New California Labor Laws, You Must Need to Know About

New California Labor Laws, You Must Need to Know About

There are more than 180 federal rules that the Department of Labor (DOL) has to follow. These rules may be different for your business and employees. Also, business owners may need to follow extra labor rules in some states.

California has some rules that aren’t found in other states. Read on to find out about the labor rules in California and how they may affect your company.

California Labor Laws

Labor laws’ main purpose is to protect workers’ rights and make employers do what they’re supposed to do. If you don’t follow labor rules, you could face fines, criminal charges, or even the closing of your business.

If you are an employer, you need to know the rules about workers’ rights. As a boss in California, you should review the state’s labor laws to make sure you’re following the rules.

Minimum Wage

The minimum wage is the least amount of money you can pay someone for an hour of work. The California minimum wage is the least amount of money that can be paid to workers. California has a law about the minimum wage. In 2024, the California state minimum wage is $16.00, and it doesn’t matter how many workers you have.

New California Labor Laws, You Must Need to Know About (1)

The minimum pay in your area may be different depending on where your business is located. If your city’s minimum wage is higher than the state minimum wage, you have to pay your workers that amount.


When you pay qualified workers extra for working extra hours, that’s called overtime pay. People who aren’t exempt must also get extra pay for the first eight hours they work on the seventh day in a row during the workweek. In California, overtime pay is 1.5 times the normal pay, the same as it is in the federal government.

It is required that you pay your worker 1.5 times their regular hourly rate for every hour they work extra. Let’s say that your worker gets paid $20 an hour. It costs them $30 an hour to work extra hours. During the week, they worked an extra six hours. The worker would need to be paid an extra $180 for working extra hours ($30 x 6 hours).

Double-time Pay

People who work in California can also get double pay for any hours worked over eight on the seventh day in a row during the workweek. A worker who makes $16 an hour would make $32 an hour if they worked two hours.

Off-the-clock Work

Under California law, a boss can’t make a worker work when they’re not supposed to. You have to pay your workers for the hours they put in.

Also Read: These are the Most Silliest Laws in New York That You Should Know

Final Paychecks

If you fire someone in California, you have to pay them their last paycheck on the same day. You have 72 hours to give the employee their last paycheck if they quit without giving more than 72 hours’ notice.

Rest and Meal Breaks

California law says that nonexempt workers must be given a paid 10-minute break every four hours they work. The worker must be given breaks as close to the middle of the job as possible.

California companies must give nonexempt workers at least 30 minutes to eat if they work more than five hours in a day. People who aren’t exempt and work more than 12 hours a day must get a second meal break that lasts at least 30 minutes. And workers must be given a paid 10-minute break every four hours they work.

Child Labor

California’s rules on child labor limit the kinds of jobs that kids can have. People under 16 years old are not allowed to work in dangerous jobs or roles that involve machines, scaffolding, tobacco, railroads, acids, or other chemicals in California. California also limits the hours that kids under 18 can work. 12 to 17-year-olds may not be able to work during these times.

If a 12 or 13-year-old is not in school (like during the holidays or summer break), they can work eight hours a day, but not more than forty hours a week. They can only work from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. They can work until 9 p.m. from June 1 to Labor Day. Kids ages 12 and 13 can’t work while school is in session.

Paid Sick Leave

Each state has its own rules about paid sick leave. In 2015, California made paid sick leave law. If an employee has worked for the company for at least 30 days, they must get paid sick leave. Employers who have collective bargaining deals with their workers do not have to give sick leave to their workers.

California workers can take paid sick leave to get checked out for a health problem, get care for it, or fix it. They can also use it to recover from being a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking.

Employees can also use paid sick leave to help a family member who is sick like this. Employers must also give certain workers up to five days of unpaid grief leave within three months of the death of a family member.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *